Biology of Filamentous Fungi

Recognizing the benefits that society could reap from research in fungal biology, Texas A&M University is committed to supporting the Program for the Biology of Filamentous Fungi (PBOFF). This program includes researchers from the Department of Plant Pathology & Microbiology and the Department of Biology at Texas A&M. Scientists with common interests in understanding the biology of fungi make up the faculty of this program. With expertise in genetics, molecular biology, developmental biology, population genetics, mycotoxicology, soil microbiology, microbial ecology, plant pathology, and biochemistry, genomics and bioinformatics these researchers foster interdisciplinary research, provide graduate training, and sponsor seminars and symposia in fungal biology. The diverse biological disciplines are brought together by a common interest in using molecular biological approaches to exploit and understand fungi.

The PBOFF faculty meets monthly to discuss research and host a Symposium each spring.  The primary role of the program is to provide a unique environment for graduate training in fungal biology.  For further information about research opportunities please see the faculty web pages at the Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology and Department of Biology.


Plant Pathology Faculty

Martin B. Dickman, Professor, Director of Institute for Plant Genomics and Biotechnology
107 Borlaug Center
979-862-4788
mbdickman@tamu.edu

Daniel J. Ebbole, Professor, Fungal Molecular Biology
321B LF Peterson
979-845-4831
d-ebbole@tamu.edu

Young-Ki Jo, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist, Turfgrass & Rice 
118C LF Peterson
979-862-1758
ykjo@tamu.edu

Charles M. Kenerley, Professor, Biological Control
413C LF Peterson
979-845-8261
c-kenerley@tamu.edu

Michael V. Kolomiets, Associate Professor, Molecular Biology of Plant Defense Responses
321C LF Peterson
979-458-4624
kolomiets@tamu.edu

Clint W. Magill, Professor, Fungal Genetics & Host Resistance
202H LF Peterson
979-845-8250
c-magill@tamu.edu

Brian D. Shaw, Associate Professor, Fungal Biology
320B LF Peterson
979-862-7518
bdshaw@tamu.edu

Won Bo Shim, Associate Professor, Fungal Pathogens of Field Crops
202J LF Peterson
979-458-2190
wbshim@tamu.edu

Heather H. Wilkinson, Professor & Associate Department Head, Ecology & Evolution of Plant Microbe Interactions
118B LF Peterson
979-845-1491
h-wilkinson@tamu.edu


Biology Faculty

Aramayo, Rodolfo – meiotic silencing in Neurospora crassa.

Bell-Pedersen, Deb – Molecular genetics and genomics of circadian clocks and signaling pathways in fungi.

Lin, Xiaorong – Molecular genetics and genomics of morphogenesis and pathogenesis in human fungal pathogens

Sachs, Matt – Regulation of eukaryotic gene expression focused primarily on post-transcriptional control; functional analyses of fungi at the genome level

Thomas, Terry – plant molecular biology; developmental and environmental control of plant gene expression; functional genomics of diverse species

Versaw, Wayne – plant and fungal molecular biology; phosphate transport and metabolism

Comments are closed.